AASHTO Overview

AASHTO is a nonprofit, nonpartisan association representing highway and transportation departments in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. It represents all transportation modes including: air, highways, public transportation, active transportation, rail, and water. Its primary goal is to foster the development, operation, and maintenance of an integrated national transportation system.

AASHTO works to educate the public and key decision makers about the critical role that transportation plays in securing a good quality of life and sound economy for our nation. AASHTO serves as a liaison between state departments of transportation and the Federal government. AASHTO is an international leader in setting technical standards for all phases of highway system development. Standards are issued for design, construction of highways and bridges, materials, and many other technical areas.

AASHTO serves as a catalyst for excellence in transportation by offering:

  • Smart solutions and promising practices;
  • Critical information, training and data;
  • Direct technical assistance to states; and
  • Unchallenged expertise.

Technical Leadership and Assistance to States: AASHTO Leads the Way
AASHTO is guided by a Board of Directors made up of the chief transportation officers from the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. The 12-member Executive Committee is led by AASHTO’s elected officers and is assisted by its executive director.

AASHTO’s policy development, standards-setting, and technical activities are the product of volunteer state department of transportation personnel who work through the AASHTO committee structure. The committees collaborate throughout the year and typically meet annually. These committees, which represent the highest standard of transportation expertise in the country, address virtually every element of planning, designing, constructing, and maintaining transportation services.

AASHTO Resolution Addressing Race, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion: The AASHTO Board of Directors approved resolution holding the association accountable for engaging in the vital work of advancing racial justice, equity, diversity, and inclusion as individual board members and as an institution.

AASHTO Strategic Plan 2021-2026: This document sets a course for AASHTO in support of its member state departments of transportation. It is focused on providing direction for AASHTO as an association.

AASHTO Committee and Council Charters

AASHTO Committee and Council Strategic Plans

AASHTO Committee and Council Action Plans (2021)

AASHTO Committee Structure (2019)

AASHTO Governing Documents (as amended November 13, 2020)
The founding documents of the Association include:

  • Articles of Incorporation
  • Bylaws of the Association
  • Board of Directors’ Operating Policy

View current Requests for Proposals.

2020 Annual Report

AASHTO is proud to share with you its 2020 annual report. Despite the challenges presented by the COVID-19 pandemic, AASHTO’s staff worked together with creativity and dedication to help the association continue its focus on supporting state departments of transportation.

AASHTO News Media Guide

Working journalists and news organizations can use this guide to identify a wide range of resources available
to them within the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials including a list of
subject matter experts.

Victoria F. Sheehan

AASHTO President; Commissioner, New Hampshire DOT

Dr. Shawn Wilson

Vice President; Secretary, Louisiana DOTD

Russell McMurry, P.E.

AASHTO Secretary-Treasurer; Commissioner, Georgia DOT

Jim Tymon

AASHTO Executive Director