AASHTO Secretary-Treasurer Scott Bennett, Arkansas

Scott Bennett was selected by the Arkansas Highway Commission to become Director of the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department effective September 22, 2011.

Bennett began his career with the Department by working as a summer employee in the Department’s District 10 Office. Following graduation from the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville in June 1989 with a Bachelor’s Degree in Civil Engineering, he began working full time for the Departments Planning and Research Division as a Civil Engineer I. He held various titles in the Statewide Planning and Research Sections until completing his Master’s Degree in 1994. Bennett became the Section Head of Technical Services in 1995 and Assistant Division Head of Planning and Research in 1996. In 1998, he transferred to Assistant Division Head of Programs and Contract and then became the Division Head of Planning and Research in 2002. In April of 2004, he was promoted to the Department’s Assistant Chief Engineer for Planning where his responsibilities included administration of the Department’s highway needs studies, long-range transportation planning, financial planning, policy planning, research programs, traffic safety programs, environmental studies, surveying, and construction project scheduling.

Mr. Bennett was named the University of Arkansas Young Engineer Alumni of the Year in 2005. He was inducted into the Arkansas Academy of Civil Engineering in 2010. Bennett is a member of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials’ (AASHTO) Board of Directors and was elected Secretary-Treasurer in 2017.  He is also chair of the AASHTO Committee on Planning, co-chair of the AASHTO/Associated General Contractors of America/American Road and Transportation Builders Association Joint Committee, and a member of the TRB Executive Committee.

He is married to Heather Bennett and they have two children, one daughter and one son, and they currently reside in the Bryant area.